Help Huck!

imageThis is an unashamedly emotional and heartfelt post. Last night, we found a cat in the woods. He was painfully thin but friendly. He had a mark on his neck where his collar used to be and was clearly somebody’s pet. We rang the RSPCA, who advised us that they couldn’t help and perhaps we should just leave him to fend for himself (no judgement for that – they cannot help every stray and financially, it was the most sensible advice. Anyone who knows me will understand that I couldn’t just walk away – it was cold last night and his miaows were so sad). So we named him Huck, after the homeless guy in Scandal, and he spent most of yesterday evening curled up on my lap, purring, clearly just enjoying being cared for again. And inevitably, he stole my heart.

Today, we took Huck to the vet. The vet couldn’t find a chip. There was more bad news – Huck is dehydrated and anaemic and has something called Gut Stasis, which are all treatable. He needs tests for Feline HIV and Leukaemia, and then more tests after that before he can get antibiotics and treatment. And all of this is going to cost a lot of money. I can pay for some but not all of this – I have a toddler and a teenager, a dog and lots of rabbits, not to mention a husband (and we all know how expensive they are). So I am asking for your help. Can you spare a little cash to help Huck? If everyone chips in a little bit, we can raise the money for the tests – £500 – in no time.

Why do I care so much?

I have been an animal lover all my life and had my own cat until recently. She lived until she was nineteen and if she’d ever been lost and lonely and hurt, I would have wanted someone to care for her. Although ultimately Huck may be beyond help, I would like to give him a chance – he is such a loving, friendly cat. I’d love to help him get better and reunite him with the family I know are missing him. And if we can’t find them, I’d like to find him a new home. If you’re an animal lover too, you’ll understand.

How will the money be spent?

Treatment for dehydration, gut stasis and fleas. Initial tests for Feline Aids and Feline Leukaemia (these cost over £300) plus follow up tests (infectious anaemia and peritonitis) and treatment if needed. Fingers crossed, we’ll get Huck better and if we can’t find his owner then we’ll rehome him with a new family. But if the worst happens, I’ll do the kindest thing and ensure he doesn’t suffer any more,even though I know that will be hard and heart-breaking. I can’t afford to do this on my own – I’ve already committed some money but I need your help to pay for the rest.

How can I contribute?

I’m hoping to set up a Just Giving page but I need to check they will accept the campaign first so for now, watch this space. If Just Giving can’t help, I will do Paypal or Eventbrite or something. Rest assured the money will go to helping Huck and anything left over will go to The Cat’s Protection League.

EDITED: Just Giving have approved the Help Huck page – if you’d like to donate something (and small is fine, it all helps) you can find it here: http://www.justgiving.com/yimby/HelpHuck

I’ll post regular updates and pictures on Twitter (using the hashtag #HelpHuck – please do help retweet to get the word out) and ensure everyone knows how Huck is doing. Ideally, we’ll then start a Help Huck Get Home campaign. But before all that, you’ll get the warm feeling from knowing you did a kind thing – you helped Huck.

Thank you.

Leave a Reply

